sounds in linux

Discuss anything to do with Nexuiz here.

Moderators: Nexuiz Moderators, Moderators

Postby g1mp » Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:41 pm

i did the ulimit -c 0 and then made it crash, but it didnt produce a core file

edit** now i tried to do it again and its giving me a "cannot modify limit" - i did ulimit -c 0 the first time becuase thats what i saw you post for some odd reason, and when i reloaded i saw "ulimit -c unlimited" ...
g1mp
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 10:15 pm

Postby esteel » Tue Sep 19, 2006 9:31 pm

Just start a new shell.. it seems you can't raise the core size limit once its set.
esteel
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:27 am

Postby g1mp » Tue Sep 19, 2006 9:39 pm

still no core file, where exactly is it supposed to be? The nexuiz main directory?
g1mp
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 10:15 pm

Postby esteel » Tue Sep 19, 2006 10:22 pm

I'm beginning to think divVerent got you wrong.. Nexuiz is not crashing for you right? So there can't be a core file. Its just not loading those libs right?

Though i really have no idea why it should not load those files as you tell those links and libs are installed and correct..
it looks like this for me:
Code: Select all
$ ls -al /usr/lib/libvorbisfile.*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 22308 2006-01-26 01:36 /usr/lib/libvorbisfile.a
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   885 2006-01-26 01:36 /usr/lib/libvorbisfile.la
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root    22 2006-04-22 15:55 /usr/lib/libvorbisfile.so -> libvorbisfile.so.3.1.1
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root    22 2006-04-14 23:39 /usr/lib/libvorbisfile.so.3 -> libvorbisfile.so.3.1.1
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 26264 2006-01-26 01:36 /usr/lib/libvorbisfile.so.3.1.1

The first two should not be of interest but the last three..

also check if your libs are ok..
Code: Select all
$ /sbin/ldconfig -p | grep vorbisfile
        libvorbisfile.so.3 (libc6) => /usr/lib/libvorbisfile.so.3
        libvorbisfile.so (libc6) => /usr/lib/libvorbisfile.so


Loading libs is a very basic thing so if Nexuiz can't load them they are either not installed right or something is wrong with your system.. Imo that alone is worth to find out whats wrong..
esteel
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:27 am

Postby g1mp » Tue Sep 19, 2006 10:25 pm

no, i fixed that by running the 64bit binary directly, and now im getting the Signal 11 error which IS making my game crash
g1mp
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 10:15 pm

Postby esteel » Tue Sep 19, 2006 10:42 pm

Well in that case it should produce a core file then..
try this in the nexuiz directory:

$ gdb ./nexuiz-linux-x86_64-sdl
inside gdb type
run
and when it crashes you should be able to enter
bt
to get the backtrace we need to take a closer look at the problem.
We should get much better info when you use the debug version for that. Div has one here: http://141.2.16.3:7780/nex/nexuizdebug20060905_v2.1.zip but the normal backtrace might also be a good start. Not to make things too complicated :)

Also as it seems the nexuiz shell script does not notice its a 64bit system the output of uname -m will be interesting..

And i might have missed it but you have installed drivers for your graphic card right? The closed source ones from ati or nvidia?
esteel
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:27 am

Postby g1mp » Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:17 pm

fglrx 28.8.08 ati drivers, and when i do the gdb it crashes my computer indefinetly, and theres no way for me to remember the entire bt since after you do cntrl+alt+f1 you cant open firefox to post it or anything... and im not gonna waste my time writing them down with pen and paper (if there really are as many as im thinking)

i really appreciate everyones help, idk why im the odd one out with the issue...
g1mp
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 10:15 pm

Postby divVerent » Wed Sep 20, 2006 8:18 am

Oh, esteel's hint doesn't exactly work like that...

but it works like this: install "screen".

Code: Select all
$ screen
$ gdb ./nexuiz-linux-x86_64-glx
(gdb) run
... make it crash ...


Then, press Ctrl-Alt-F1. There, log in and type:

Code: Select all
$ screen -dR
(gdb) bt
... note its output (for example, select it using the mouse, Ctrl-Alt-F2, log in, cat > backtrace.txt and press the middle mouse button) ...
(gdb) quit


After that, you can go back to F7...
1. Open Notepad
2. Paste: ÿþMSMSMS
3. Save
4. Open the file in Notepad again

You can vary the number of "MS", so you can clearly see it's MS which is causing it.
divVerent
Site admin and keyboard killer
 
Posts: 3809
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: BRLOGENSHFEGLE

Postby esteel » Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:29 am

That is if gpm is active (the mouse thing on the console)
Well the screen is still running so you can reattach it again in X in a xterm or something there the mouse will work for sure.
Just start a shell and enter screen -dR and you should again have the text available.

Sorry for missing this little point, seems it was too late for me yesterday :)

Well i noticed you also have problems with warsow with similar error outputs.. yeah i spy their forum :P. So if you still think about if its worth to fix this i would say yes its a good idea to fix your system :)

PS: For people that like to work with screen: If you only need one screen per computer, alias screen=screen -D -RR is very nice. it will get you a screen if there is none running, or it will reattach the first one it finds. Its a sort of 'dwim' command (do-what-i-mean) :P You can also add -A to make screen adapt to the new window size instead of trying to resize your xterm.. I use that one too.
esteel
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:27 am

Postby divVerent » Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:41 pm

divVerent wrote:Then, press Ctrl-Alt-F1. There, log in and type:


Another thing you can do at this point: Hit Ctrl-Alt-Backspace to kill your running X server, log in again graphically and reattach your screen using "screen -dR" or a similar command (like esteel's).

That way, it should be easier to copy paste the backtrace.
1. Open Notepad
2. Paste: ÿþMSMSMS
3. Save
4. Open the file in Notepad again

You can vary the number of "MS", so you can clearly see it's MS which is causing it.
divVerent
Site admin and keyboard killer
 
Posts: 3809
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: BRLOGENSHFEGLE

PreviousNext

Return to Nexuiz - General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron