Quickly toggling fullscreen / windowed mode

Discuss anything to do with Nexuiz here.

Moderators: Nexuiz Moderators, Moderators

Quickly toggling fullscreen / windowed mode

Postby SubSector » Tue Oct 10, 2006 11:57 pm

After many times fumbling with menu then entering the commands, i made a bind to quickly toggle fullscreen/windowed mode, like this;

bind "m" "toggle vid_fullscreen; vid_restart"

In Quake III and a few other games ALT+ENTER switches the mode.
Would it be hard to add this as a default for Nexuiz?

I tried making a bind for that but couldn't get it to work, i'm probably doing it wrong however.
SubSector
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:35 pm
Location: London. UK.

Postby Shoe » Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:27 am

Well, the command for DP to toggle fullscreen is vid_fullscreen 0 or 1, so you'd want that in your binding :)
Shoe
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 2:18 am

Postby SubSector » Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:50 am

The bind for "m" above does work.
When i try;

bind "ALT+ENTER" "toggle vid_fullscreen; vid_restart"

i get the error
"ALT+ENTER" isn't a valid key

I'm obviously doing that wrong :?
SubSector
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:35 pm
Location: London. UK.

Postby GreEn`mArine » Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:36 pm

I've never seen combined keys in an bind-statement, so I guess this isn't supported ?
IRC quote:
[kojn] I've been coming a bit more recently
[kojn] she took it the dirty way
GreEn`mArine
Forum addon
 
Posts: 1509
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 9:33 pm
Location: Germany

Postby esteel » Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:50 pm

No you can't combine keys like this.. just single keys. And i have no idea how hard it would be to make DP use alt-enter..
esteel
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:27 am

Postby SubSector » Thu Oct 12, 2006 3:40 am

Ok. Thanks for the help.

It seems that when i use the bind that the gamma is messed up when it switches.

I tried putting a v_gamma 2 at the end, that didn't work.
Abaddon suggested putting a wait command before v_gamma but that didn't work either.
Trying to use v_gamma even as a seperate command afterwards also doesn't appear to work (after using the bind, it does usually)

So i guess making this was a waste of time, i still have to use the menu to change the gamma, so i might as well just use it to switch fullscreen. :(
SubSector
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:35 pm
Location: London. UK.

Postby esteel » Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:07 am

Code: Select all
alias "fullscreen1" "toggle vid_fullscreen; vid_restart; alias fullscreen fullscreen2"
alias "fullscreen2" "toggle v_hwgamma; alias fullscreen fullscreen3"
alias "fullscreen3" "toggle v_hwgamma; alias fullscreen fullscreen1"
alias "fullscreen" "alias fullscreen fullscreen1"
bind "f7" "fullscreen"
This is a work around for me.. just have to press F7 a few times to get your old gamma back. This seems to be a bug in the engine that should have been fixed a few times by now. What is your computer setup? System? Dualmonitor? Driverversion..

Just put those lines into nexuiz/data/autoexec.cfg and it will work. Aliases are not saved into config.cfg.
esteel
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:27 am

Postby SubSector » Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:41 am

Thanks for the workaround, at least it kind of works now. :D

running Gentoo Linux
gentoo-sources-2.6.17-r8
nvidia-drivers-1.0.9625 (beta but i've had gamma problems with stable too)
xorg-x11-7.1
libsdl-1.2.11
...

Single monitor on 6800GT using Nexuiz 2.1 (SDL) which i compiled the darkplaces engine myself.
SubSector
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:35 pm
Location: London. UK.


Return to Nexuiz - General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron