Input Controls

Discuss Nexuiz gameplay here.

Moderators: Nexuiz Moderators, Moderators

Input Controls

Postby Altobe » Mon Apr 02, 2007 7:21 pm

I have some questions about my set up. Thanks in advance and here goes. I play on a mac and am using osx.4.9. I have a 3 button logitech laser mouse, but the scroll wheel button doesn't seem very precise, it takes a lot of pressure. I like the (w,a,s,d) for my movement, and the space bar for jumping. I read in another post about having the laser bound to a key, to where it starts firing then after I jump and release the button, or key, it switches back to the weapon I had before. That's something I would like to have bound to button 3, but I wasn't sure if the other post was concerning windows or mac.Also if I have the laser jump bound to that button I don't want it to switch weapons if I accidentally move the wheel I guess what I'm asking for is some suggestions on optimizing what I've got. I also don't really like the fact that if I pick up another weapon it automatically switches to that weapon. Is there any way to disable that? All my weapons are bound to the number keys (I guess that is default), but I seem to get mixed up when I try to switch, especially the laser jumping. I still have to look at the keys, I know I just have to practice more, but if I don't look sometimes I can't find my movement keys and I'm dead in the water, again thanks in advance for any help.
Altobe
Alien
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Ohio USA

Postby esteel » Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:01 pm

Hi :).
That laser thing you read in this other post should work on ALL version.. mac, linux, windows does not make a difference. However i think those scripts are not really helpful once you got used to the weapons on keys around your movment keys. Thats often faster and more flexible.
Whats strange is that on the one hand you say its hard to use the mousewheel yet it seems you use it accidentally. Well you can just remove the weapon switch from the mouse wheel.
Code: Select all
bind mwheelup ";"
bind mwheeldown ";"

should do that. If you really remove the two lines from your config.cfg the default ones will be used.
You can switch of the automatic weapon switch on pickup in the Option/Player menu. Its active (or well inactive) the next time you connect to a server.
I think using the numbers is bad, that MUST be confusing, but the numbers are kind of a default ever since gaming exists. I changed this to keys around the ones i use for moving. In your case this would be keys around wasd.
If you have not yet read it, i think this should help you: http://forums.alientrap.local/viewtopic.php?t=1344
esteel
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:27 am

Postby Altobe » Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:10 pm

esteel wrote:Hi :).

Whats strange is that on the one hand you say its hard to use the mousewheel yet it seems you use it accidentally. Well you can just remove the weapon switch from the mouse wheel.
http://forums.alientrap.local/viewtopic.php?t=1344

On my mouse I have the 2 main buttons and the wheel is actually a button too. You just push down the whole wheel, and I forgot the wheel also moves to either side, so I guess it really is a 5 button mouse

I'm sorry if I'm sounding slow, but could you please just tell me how to bind actions to keys and mouse buttons. Thank you esteel for all your help! :D
Altobe
Alien
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Ohio USA

Postby Altobe » Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:16 pm

with the nex is there a secondary fire? Because for me its zoom. I'd like to remove that zoom and make another button zoom.
Altobe
Alien
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Ohio USA

Postby esteel » Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:21 pm

Well i have a real 5 button mouse: http://www.razerzone.com/index.php?main ... ducts_id=9
I use the mouse wheel 'button' to display the scoreboard but i never accidentally switched guns. Maybe there are indeed better and worse mousewheels :)
Well the simplest way to bind actions to a key is to use the Options/Controls menu. If you want to bind actions that are on in this menu or aliases you will have to use the ingame console. You can open it by pressing shift-escape and close it again by pressing escape.
Just enter lines like in the config file. For example:
bind w +forward
bind mouse1 +attack
bind e "impulse 2"
if a action contains a space or a ; you have to surreound it with " as you can see above. If you need more info just ask.

There is a zoom function that you can bind to a key.. By default mouse3 (guess thats your mousewheel) will zoom independent of the weapon. The nexgun does not have a second firemode so i guess it seemed logical to make it zoom instead.
esteel
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:27 am

Postby Altobe » Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:04 am

I figured out that my mouse is really not made for this sort of thing, I need something a little more advanced. New toys are awesome! :P
Altobe
Alien
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Ohio USA

Postby Altobe » Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:07 am

esteel wrote:

Just enter lines like in the config file. For example:
bind w +forward
bind mouse1 +attack
bind e "impulse 2"

I understand the +forward, and +atack, but what does impulse2 mean?

I mean the command 'impulse'
Altobe
Alien
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Ohio USA

Postby KadaverJack » Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:28 am

"impulse" just sends a numeric code to the server, which will trigger various actions... In Nexuiz impulse 1-9 will switch to a specific weapon (1 == laser, 2 == shotgun, ..., 9 == rocket launcher), 10 & 12 will switch to the next/previous weapon, 11 will switch to the last used weapon, 17 will make you drop your weapon. (13-16 and a few more >18 are used for debugging)
KadaverJack
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 9:42 pm

Postby Altobe » Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:35 am

KadaverJack wrote:"impulse" just sends a numeric code to the server, which will trigger various actions... In Nexuiz impulse 1-9 will switch to a specific weapon (1 == laser, 2 == shotgun, ..., 9 == rocket launcher), 10 & 12 will switch to the next/previous weapon, 11 will switch to the last used weapon, 17 will make you drop your weapon. (13-16 and a few more >18 are used for debugging)

So to add a quick change for laser jumping it would start like:

bind mouse3 "toggle impulse1; wait; +atack"

Or not. please educate me.
What's the difference between alias and bind?
Altobe
Alien
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Ohio USA

Postby KadaverJack » Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:13 am

Altobe wrote:bind mouse3 "toggle impulse1; wait; +atack"

No, it's gotta be:
Code: Select all
bind MOUSE3 "impulse 1; wait; +attack"
(you might need more than one "wait" to make it work, since wait only waits for the next frame, but switching to the laser need more time)

What's the difference between alias and bind?

"bind" assigns an action to a button, so when you press the button, the command is executed.
"alias" lets you assign a new name for a command, so you can run a series of commands with a short keyword (e.g. 'alias gg "say *gg*"' will make you say "*gg*", everytime you enter "gg")
There's a special use for alias:
Code: Select all
alias +laserjump "impulse 1"
alias -laserjump "+attack; wait; -attack; wait; impulse 11"
bind MOUSE3 +laserjump

In this case, +laserjump is executed, when you press mouse3, that will switch your weapon to the laser. When you release the button, -laserjump is executed, you will fire once and switch back to weapon you used before.
KadaverJack
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 9:42 pm

Next

Return to Nexuiz - Gameplay

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron