script with key binds for trying some performance tuning

Tips on how to tweak Nexuiz for the best performance

Moderators: Nexuiz Moderators, Moderators

script with key binds for trying some performance tuning

Postby AceOfThumbs » Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:47 pm

I wrote a script with key bind toggles for cl_movement, gl_finish and sv_maxrate, so you can easily fiddle with these settings in game, without opening the console.

Add this to your autoexec.cfg file. You can edit the code to choose the keyboard keys that activate a toggle. See the comments in the code. Also there is a basic description of what they do. I am experimenting myself still, so I don't have all the answers. Different settings seem to work better for different computers and player styles.

To use start a game then hit a key to turn on a "fix", again to turn it off:
    l for help with lag, or problems aiming
    o for help with open gl, or frame rate problems or input problems (this didn't do anything for me)
    k for connection speed problems (haven't tried this one myself yet)

The code will always start up with the defaults. If you decide you like a fix, you can change the code to start with the fix instead of the default setting.

I like the lag fix (set cl_movement 0), not sure about gl fix or rate fix yet.

Code: Select all
// AOT performance tuning toggles

// lag fix, 1 (default)=lag correction similar to image stabilization
alias "aot_lagfix0" "set cl_movement 0 ; echo cl_movement 0 ; alias aot_lagfix_toggle aot_lagfix1"
alias "aot_lagfix1" "set cl_movement 1 ; echo cl_movement 1 ; alias aot_lagfix_toggle aot_lagfix0"

// start with default setting
aot_lagfix1

//open gl fix, 0 (default), 1 helps with some graphic cards/drivers I guess
alias "aot_glfix0" "set gl_finish 0 ; echo gl_finish 0 ; alias aot_glfix_toggle aot_glfix1"
alias "aot_glfix1" "set gl_finish 1 ; echo gl_finish 1 ; alias aot_glfix_toggle aot_glfix0"

// start with default setting
aot_glfix0

//maxrate fix, 10000 is normal, 20000 is better if server has same setting
alias "aot_ratefix10" "set rate 10000 ; echo rate 10000 ; alias aot_ratefix_toggle aot_ratefix20"
alias "aot_ratefix20" "set rate 20000 ; echo rate 20000 ; alias aot_ratefix_toggle aot_ratefix10"

// start with default setting
aot_ratefix10

// USER SETTINGS-keyboard keys
// change the letter after bind to the key you want to use to adjust that toggle

bind l "aot_lagfix_toggle"
bind o "aot_glfix_toggle"
bind k "aot_ratefix_toggle"

// END OF USER SETTINGS
Last edited by AceOfThumbs on Fri Oct 26, 2007 8:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.
AceOfThumbs
Alien
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:12 pm

Postby Xeno » Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:21 am

Using "say" will display those messages in the chat window for everyone (i.e. spam). You should replace all instances of "say" with "echo", which will display a message silently and only to you at the top of the screen.
Xeno
peregrinus originis incognitae
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:42 pm

Postby AceOfThumbs » Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:38 am

I just caught that myself, too , thanks Xeno, the code is corrected now.
AceOfThumbs
Alien
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:12 pm

Postby divVerent » Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:24 am

sv_maxrate is a server setting, you want to set rate instead.
1. Open Notepad
2. Paste: ÿþMSMSMS
3. Save
4. Open the file in Notepad again

You can vary the number of "MS", so you can clearly see it's MS which is causing it.
divVerent
Site admin and keyboard killer
 
Posts: 3809
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: BRLOGENSHFEGLE

Postby AceOfThumbs » Fri Oct 26, 2007 9:00 pm

Thank you divVerent, I've corrected that in the script.

Is 20000 a good alternate setting?

Or better, yet, can I just use a line like this:
Code: Select all
set rate sv_maxrate

Would that automatically match the client rate to the server rate?
AceOfThumbs
Alien
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:12 pm

Postby esteel » Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:34 pm

AceOfThumbs wrote:Or better, yet, can I just use a line like this:
Code: Select all
set rate sv_maxrate

Would that automatically match the client rate to the server rate?

no.. sv_maxrate is the server rate setting your computer would use when you would start a local match.
and even if it would work the way you want it you would have to write:
set rate $sv_maxrate
:)
esteel
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:27 am

Postby AceOfThumbs » Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:47 pm

esteel wrote:and even if it would work the way you want it you would have to write:
set rate $sv_maxrate
:)

Thanks for the correction esteel. I figured out how to use $ in front of cvars a few months ago, but it is good to clarify for others reading this thread.

By the way, I never really use any of these performance tunes. I came to find the defaults work best for me. Something I do use is a toggle for Open GL 2.0 and Vertex Buffer Objects. I think this might only be useful for Mac users. Here is a link to the thread:
http://forums.alientrap.local/viewtopic.php?p=32567#32567
So much to do, so little time to do it
AceOfThumbs
Alien
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:12 pm


Return to Nexuiz - Performance Tips

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron