Community made patches and improvements

Developer discussion of experimental fixes, changes, and improvements.

Moderators: Nexuiz Moderators, Moderators

Postby esteel » Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:45 pm

The bouncing you describe is exactly how the crylink primary works :)

I'l take a look at your patches when i have some time..
esteel
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:27 am

Postby MirceaKitsune » Fri Jan 16, 2009 4:46 pm

Yeah, the crylink's does that so I think the one for the hagar should probably do the same thing. Back to the crosshairs anyway, I was planning to setup the new sizes for the defaults and seen a new patch was committed which adds weapon based crosshair files for each weapon. I'm not sure but I think that may probably not be such a good idea, and instead all weapon crosshairs could be left running from the classic crosshairs list including the defaults (crosshair1,2,3,etc.tga).

More weapon specific crosshairs do need to be added, but personally I'd go with adding them by modifying the crosshairX.tga files already there with better images. Separate .tgas for the weapon's name would probably get in the way as they would be hidden and unusable for any other weapon from the menu (unless they would also be present through the crosshair buttons in the menu as well so all crosshairs are selectable and usable). If per-weapon crosshair files are indeed better to use then sure, but I think that should probably be given a second thought as it may make the game less customizable if not added to the menus too and add unnecessary complexity. Just my thoughts...
MirceaKitsune
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 6:48 am
Location: Romania - Bucharest

Postby divVerent » Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:31 pm

MirceaKitsune wrote:At the moment there's still a small problem in the new adjusters you set up however. With "Per weapon crosshairs" enabled, if you adjust the size or alpha that modifies these settings for each weapons crosshair. That should probably still remain disabled until we can have every adjuster there (the crosshair buttons, size slider, alpha slider, R G B sliders) working for every individual weapon depending on what you have set up.


No, that's intended. That way, you can still adjust the size globally, while keeping the relative size difference as set up by the cvars. Note that the code MULTIPLIES the sizes, it does not simply override.

As for separate TGAs - well, we simply have too many crosshairs already. Too many image controls will slow the menu down noticably, we can't have 50 crosshairs in it. If anyone REALLY wants to use that crosshair, he can do "crosshair nex".

That's why the special ones should not be selectable generally.
1. Open Notepad
2. Paste: ÿþMSMSMS
3. Save
4. Open the file in Notepad again

You can vary the number of "MS", so you can clearly see it's MS which is causing it.
divVerent
Site admin and keyboard killer
 
Posts: 3809
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: BRLOGENSHFEGLE

Postby MirceaKitsune » Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:19 pm

I see then. Well as long as every weapon's crosshair type is overridable as well to use the menu crosshairs with the cvars everything is good I guess... maybe unique gun crosshairs could be a better idea after all :) I shall try to make some better crosses for each weapon a bit later in Photoshop.

As for the size and alpha being global, Esteel and me (if I understood what he meant right) were planning to try and make the crosshair adjusters work for every weapon from a list and adjust the crosshair of each gun from the menu. Not sure if and when we'll get that working although it's certainly worth a try, so maybe we can use that instead (my idea again is priority list selection = crosshair the sliders adjust).
MirceaKitsune
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 6:48 am
Location: Romania - Bucharest

Postby Spaceman » Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:36 pm

Some changes to the Key Hunt HUD. Patch - here

Softened the two tga's, they now look less jagged - KH icons here

Moved the code from client/View,qc to client/sbar.qc with the CTF HUD code

Simplified it

Added three new cvar's
    sbar_flagstatus_margin 10 // pixel distance between ctf/kh icons
    sbar_flagstatus_border "8 100" // pixel distance between ctf/kh icons and the lower left/right corner
    sbar_flagstatus_size_kh "49 112" // pixel size of the kh flags


Use sbar_flagstatus_right 1 to move the KH/CTF icons to the right. The icons may over print the weapon selector.

Note - I have used GetTeamRGB(COLOR_TEAM1), these can be replaced with the actual vectors.
Code: Select all
COLOR_TEAM1 (red) '1 0 0'
COLOR_TEAM2 (blue) '0 0 1'
COLOR_TEAM3 (yellow) '1 1 0'
COLOR_TEAM4 (pink) '1 0 1'
Spaceman
Alien trapper
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:53 am

Postby divVerent » Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:38 pm

You really shouldn't registercvar saved cvars from QC. They won't get saved when not playing.

Better enter them into defaultNexuiz.cfg, and do something sensible if they are not set.
1. Open Notepad
2. Paste: ÿþMSMSMS
3. Save
4. Open the file in Notepad again

You can vary the number of "MS", so you can clearly see it's MS which is causing it.
divVerent
Site admin and keyboard killer
 
Posts: 3809
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: BRLOGENSHFEGLE

Postby MirceaKitsune » Sat Jan 17, 2009 12:57 am

Created a new set of crosshair textures for the guns... still not perfect but more usable for now. They are a bit different then some of the shapes Div intended so I hope that's ok, I think I used some good and useful styles for now. I ripped and modified a few of the menu crosshairs as well but suited them to what they should be.

You can apply these temporarily even if they will be replaced later on to at least change the current simple images in the SVN. Apply the defaultNexuiz.cfg as well to match size and color changes correctly, and of course feel free to further modify these images and submit them if you wish. Patch can be found HERE.
MirceaKitsune
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 6:48 am
Location: Romania - Bucharest

Postby Spaceman » Sat Jan 17, 2009 2:37 am

divVerent wrote:You really shouldn't registercvar saved cvars from QC. They won't get saved when not playing.

Better enter them into defaultNexuiz.cfg, and do something sensible if they are not set.


I copied some 'sensible' code from client/teamradar.qc :)

A new patch here

I've also modified the ctf hud icons, and added another cvar sbar_flagstatus_size_ctf "64 64" // pixel size of the ctf flags

I changed all the ctf *.tga sizes, they are now 64 * 64 pxels, uncompressed - here.

The cvar 'sbar_flagstatus_pos' is no longer needed for the csqc hud, although it's needed when connected to 2.4.2 server.

The icon position no longer relies on the value of sbar, I find it annoying when I change huds and the ctf/kh icons move up/down. If the icons are in the lower left or right they could overlap the mini scoreboard (left) or the mini deathmatch overlay (right).

Whilst adding the cvars to defaultNexuiz.cfg I noticed that sbar_alpha_bg is in it but not used, and sbar_alpha_fg is not in it, but used in client/sbar.qc and client/View.qc. I'll investigate how they are used in the Darkplaces hud.

sbar_alpha_fg & sbar_alpha_fg are both defined in darkplaces/sbar.c

The new cvar's are
sbar_flagstatus_margin 10 // pixel distance between ctf/kh icons
sbar_flagstatus_border "8 100" // pixel distance between ctf/kh icons and the lower left/right corner
sbar_flagstatus_size_kh "49 112" // pixel size of the kh icons
sbar_flagstatus_size_ctf "64 64" // pixel size of the ctf icons

If sbar_flagstatus_margin is -ve and sbar_flagstatus_border_y is also -ve then you can reverse the order of the icons.

Edit: Removed a major typo from kh hud, updated the patch.
Last edited by Spaceman on Sun Jan 18, 2009 12:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Spaceman
Alien trapper
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:53 am

Postby MirceaKitsune » Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:30 pm

For the time being I have created another patch which implements a new feature that some of us wanted to see: Own footstep sounds on any server, regardless of the g_footsteps cvar. This new cvar is called cl_own_footsteps and allows one to hear their own (and only their own) footstep sounds on any server unless g_footsteps is enabled in which case you hear everyone's like before.

I know some devs didn't care about this feature and may see it as something pointless, but some of us want to hear our footstep effects a lot as it was discussed in another topic many months ago. The reason footsteps were made a mutator and disabled by default was so other peoples locations wouldn't be given away while walking, and since this enables local steps only that can still be prevented and those who want to hear footstep effects while walking are happy as well.

Patch can be found HERE and HERE. I hope it's alright and this feature can be implemented for those of us who want it :)
MirceaKitsune
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 6:48 am
Location: Romania - Bucharest

Postby mand1nga » Sun Jan 18, 2009 2:01 pm

victim wrote:
divVerent wrote:You really shouldn't registercvar saved cvars from QC. They won't get saved when not playing.

Better enter them into defaultNexuiz.cfg, and do something sensible if they are not set.

A new patch here


It seems the registercvar calls are still there. Some can be safely removed, some others like sbar_flagstatus_pos not. I guess you will need to add the "seta" prefix to these cvars on defaultNexuiz.cfg.
mand1nga
Alien trapper
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 12:19 am

PreviousNext

Return to Nexuiz - Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron