rag doll physics

Developer discussion of experimental fixes, changes, and improvements.

Moderators: Nexuiz Moderators, Moderators

Postby tundramagi » Thu Jun 04, 2009 12:38 am

Mizu Kitsune wrote:i said i would segment the models. so far the only thing i can get to do with models is just animate regularly them and change the textures, besides bounce and slide in static dead position.


Could you try to do the auto-division? Segmenting the models themselves really isn't a good solution (as lazers will cut where there is no segment, and artists won't add segments to existing models usually, nor the ones they create). Adding logic for darkplaces to cut the models it'self (using, say the blender ring loop select-vertex algo to make the division line, then blenders fill (make "cap",) algo to add the needed new triangles), would allow all models that are ever made for dp to be cut apart.

This way a laser grid could, say, dice a model.
These things are done in the model creation software, they can be done in the game itself too. The reason it hasn't been (in commercial games) is because it's cheaper and eaiser to get artists to make segmented models than it is to add new game logic (infact most games just license and do very small code edits).

In OSS it's very difficult to get artists, OSS is geared more toward programatic solutions. To the engine a bunch of vertexes in a group making triagles is a bunch of vertexes in a group making triangles though.
tundramagi
Forum addon
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:53 pm

Postby Mizu Kitsune » Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:55 am

can this setting be set in ms3d and kept apon smd export? i think i've seen Such done before where the models used fell apart when a laser went through, the models were segmented like mine would be.
+The Dude+
[-Project 2501-]
Mizu Kitsune
Alien trapper
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 7:51 pm
Location: Maridia

Postby tundramagi » Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:37 am

Mizu Kitsune wrote:can this setting be set in ms3d and kept apon smd export? i think i've seen Such done before where the models used fell apart when a laser went through, the models were segmented like mine would be.


I think each segmented piece in traditional segmentation is a seperate model (the engine keeps them together).

But think about this for a second: a traditional segmentation approach is labor intensive (every model that is made needs to support it, and needs to be tested to make sure the animations don't show the blood part of the segment.

Traditional segmentation is also nothing new and has been done many times. Also it is inaccurate: where the laser cuts is not where the segment disjoins.

Now, lets think of engine-generated segments (that is the engine itself seperates the model along the closest vertexes that the laser (etc) hits):

It requires a singular expenditure of labor (the programming) and nothing more.
It hasn't been done too many times before in game engines (if you implement it you gain noteriety).
All models, even non-player models, can be supported automatically.

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
tundramagi
Forum addon
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:53 pm

Postby Mizu Kitsune » Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:30 am

AGH!!! FULLSCREEN IMAGE!!! the only problem with that is wouldn't it leave wholes in the mesh? like the unseen sides of the default CS1.6 models?
+The Dude+
[-Project 2501-]
Mizu Kitsune
Alien trapper
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 7:51 pm
Location: Maridia

Postby tundramagi » Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:35 am

Mizu Kitsune wrote:AGH!!! FULLSCREEN IMAGE!!! the only problem with that is wouldn't it leave wholes in the mesh? like the unseen sides of the default CS1.6 models?


No, as the last step is joining the vertexes on the cut line in a zigzag pattern making a surface where the new side is, and throwing an appropriate texture on that (red, green, or purple).

(the red lines shown in the last picture)

This is how the fil/makesurface command in blender works btw :) .
tundramagi
Forum addon
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:53 pm

Postby Sven » Fri Jun 12, 2009 6:34 pm

i used google to look up for "open source physics engine" because i cant write a sourcecode because i've not the skills but i would like to here the matches:

http://www.ode.org/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physics_engine(look under: Real-time physics engines>Open source )
http://www.tokamakphysics.com/looks good , my favourite :wink:

if its not compatible with nex's engine you can read in the sourcecodes of the physics engine what should be in a p.e. :wink:

>maybe this are some news :wink:
Sven
Alien trapper
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 8:38 am
Location: Berlin; Germany

Previous

Return to Nexuiz - Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron