Some texture questions

Post anything to do with editing Nexuiz here. Whether its problems you've had, questions, or if you just want to show off your work.

Moderators: Nexuiz Moderators, Moderators

Some texture questions

Postby torus » Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:03 pm

2 questions I have:

a) How are textures applied to misc_models (nothing fancy, just standard nex textures) in either .ase or .md3? When I tried to use the "surface inspector," and entered in the name of the texture, it didnt do anything. :| What's the trick? :wink:

b) Has anyone had success with the .md3 exporter/ase exporter for blender in terms of textures? The model export works fine, but the textures wont export, or dont show in Radiant.
Thanks :)
Image
torus
Forum addon
 
Posts: 1341
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 6:59 am
Location: USA

Re: Some texture questions

Postby KadaverJack » Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:42 am

torus wrote:a) How are textures applied to misc_models (nothing fancy, just standard nex textures) in either .ase or .md3? When I tried to use the "surface inspector," and entered in the name of the texture, it didnt do anything. :| What's the trick? :wink:

MD3 stores the texture path in the model itself, you have to set the texture in your 3d app. (or you can use http://icculus.org/twilight/darkplaces/ ... 070412.zip to change the texture). No idea how ASE handles textures, but i guess it also stores the texture name in the model (and since ASE is a plain text format you can change it with any text editor)

b) Has anyone had success with the .md3 exporter/ase exporter for blender in terms of textures? The model export works fine, but the textures wont export, or dont show in Radiant.

What are you using as texture path? The path should be relative to data/textures/, so for data/textures/foo.tga you should set the texture to foo.tga.
KadaverJack
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 9:42 pm

Postby tZork » Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:26 pm

In ase it preddy easy provided your exporter setup the UVs correctly.

you are looking for the blok[s] similar to this:
Code: Select all
*MATERIAL_LIST   {

   *MATERIAL_COUNT   6

   *MATERIAL   0   {

      *MATERIAL_NAME   "textures/common/caulk"

      *MATERIAL_CLASS   "Standard"

      *MATERIAL_DIFFUSE   1.000000   1.000000   1.000000

      *MATERIAL_SHADING Phong

      *MAP_DIFFUSE   {

         *MAP_NAME   "textures/common/caulk"

         *MAP_CLASS   "Bitmap"

         *MAP_SUBNO   1

         *MAP_AMOUNT   1.0

         *MAP_TYPE   Screen

         *BITMAP   "..\textures\common\caulk.tga"

         *BITMAP_FILTER   Pyramidal

      }

   }


The line that say
Code: Select all
      *MATERIAL_NAME   "textures/common/caulk"

is the one that matters. This would usually be what you named that material to in your modelig app. Change that to the name of the shader or path to texture and you should be all set. And no, the surface inspector cant help you. If you want the game so treat your model as solid you need to give it spawnflags 4. Note that that can be a bad idea on complex models, better clip those manually.
HOF:
<Diablo> the nex is a "game modification"
<Diablo> quake1 never had a weapon like that.
<Vordreller> there was no need for anything over 4GB untill Vista came along
<Samua>]Idea: Fix it? :D
<Samua>Lies, that only applies to other people.
tZork
tZite Admin
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Halfway to somwhere else


Return to Nexuiz - Editing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron