Transparency in textures - how?

Post anything to do with editing Nexuiz here. Whether its problems you've had, questions, or if you just want to show off your work.

Moderators: Nexuiz Moderators, Moderators

Transparency in textures - how?

Postby Clueless Newbie » Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:07 am

How does one make textures with transparency? For rails, ladders, windows, membranes, etc. Is there is postfix that will make this happen - as with the glowmasks and so on?
2 GHz Mac Pro
Mac OS X 10.6.2
nvidia GeForce 8800 GT
Clueless Newbie
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:01 pm

Postby tZork » Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:09 am

same ways as in quake3

first make a image with a alfachannel. where the alfa is white the image will be opace, black transparent. anything inbetween will be a blend. then fire yp you favorite texteditor and do something like:
Code: Select all
textures/procyon2/mfx1
{
   qer_editorimage textures/Procyon2/mfx1.tga

   {
      map textures/Procyon2/mfx1.tga
      blendfunc blend
   }

   {
      blendfunc filter
      map $lightmap
      rgbGen identity
      tcGen lightmap
   }
}

save in nexuiz/data/scripts/yourmap.shader. Now open nexuiz/data/scripts/shaderlist.txt and add youmap on a new line at the borrom. Ofc replace filenamesand paths in the shader with your own.

Alternativly, if the areas to be transparent on yer image is all black (and no ares that shoud not be arent) you can use someit like:
Code: Select all
textures/procyon2/grid1
{
   qer_editorimage textures/procyon2/grid1.tga

   surfaceparm nomarks
   surfaceparm trans
   surfaceparm alphashadow
   cull none
   nopicmip
   nomipmaps



   {
      map textures/procyon2/grid1.tga
      rgbGen identity
      alphafunc GT0
   }

   {
      map $lightmap
      rgbGen identity
      tcGen lightmap
      blendfunc filter
   }
}


(alphafunc GT0 insted of blendfunc blend)
HOF:
<Diablo> the nex is a "game modification"
<Diablo> quake1 never had a weapon like that.
<Vordreller> there was no need for anything over 4GB untill Vista came along
<Samua>]Idea: Fix it? :D
<Samua>Lies, that only applies to other people.
tZork
tZite Admin
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Halfway to somwhere else

Postby Clueless Newbie » Sat Jul 14, 2007 2:33 pm

tZork wrote:same ways as in quake3

first make a image with a alfachannel. where the alfa is white the image will be opace, black transparent. anything inbetween will be a blend. then fire yp you favorite texteditor and do something like:

Ok. Thanks. B)
2 GHz Mac Pro
Mac OS X 10.6.2
nvidia GeForce 8800 GT
Clueless Newbie
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:01 pm

Postby Clueless Newbie » Sat Jul 21, 2007 11:13 am

tZork wrote:same ways as in quake3

first make a image with a alfachannel. where the alfa is white the image will be opace, black transparent.


Hmm.. I see I need to figure out how to make an image with an alpha channel. But I think that might be a topic for a different forum. Does radiant / nexuiz accept other formats than .tga?


Alternativly, if the areas to be transparent on yer image is all black (and no ares that shoud not be arent) you can use someit like:
Code: Select all
textures/procyon2/grid1
{
   qer_editorimage textures/procyon2/grid1.tga

   surfaceparm nomarks
   surfaceparm trans
   surfaceparm alphashadow
   cull none
   nopicmip
   nomipmaps



   {
      map textures/procyon2/grid1.tga
      rgbGen identity
      alphafunc GT0
   }

   {
      map $lightmap
      rgbGen identity
      tcGen lightmap
      blendfunc filter
   }
}


(alphafunc GT0 insted of blendfunc blend)


I tried this. Pasted it into my shader script and changed the filenames so they would fit that I'm doing. But that made the compiler quit early in the process and left me with a map with no shadow effects at all.
2 GHz Mac Pro
Mac OS X 10.6.2
nvidia GeForce 8800 GT
Clueless Newbie
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:01 pm

Postby KadaverJack » Sat Jul 21, 2007 2:56 pm

Clueless Newbie wrote:Hmm.. I see I need to figure out how to make an image with an alpha channel.

With gimp: right click -> Layer -> Transparency -> Add alpha channel

But I think that might be a topic for a different forum. Does radiant / nexuiz accept other formats than .tga?

Yes, jpeg & png. However jpeg doesn't support alpha channels, so it's of no use in this case.
KadaverJack
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 9:42 pm

Postby Clueless Newbie » Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:43 pm

tZork wrote:same ways as in quake3

first make a image with a alfachannel. where the alfa is white the image will be opace, black transparent. anything inbetween will be a blend.


Are you sure it's not the other way around? Turns out PS can make files with Alpha channels (through the "save for web" option), but there the black is opaque and white is transparent.

And I can't find any way to invert the aplha layer. (not in Gimp either)
2 GHz Mac Pro
Mac OS X 10.6.2
nvidia GeForce 8800 GT
Clueless Newbie
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:01 pm

Postby tZork » Sun Jul 22, 2007 11:31 am

in ps, select the alfa (channels tab) and hit ctl+i (you can also use save as and select tga / png, no need for the save 4 web stuff)
HOF:
<Diablo> the nex is a "game modification"
<Diablo> quake1 never had a weapon like that.
<Vordreller> there was no need for anything over 4GB untill Vista came along
<Samua>]Idea: Fix it? :D
<Samua>Lies, that only applies to other people.
tZork
tZite Admin
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Halfway to somwhere else

Postby Clueless Newbie » Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:02 pm

tZork wrote:in ps, select the alfa (channels tab) and hit ctl+i (you can also use save as and select tga / png, no need for the save 4 web stuff)

I'm using PS 2 Elements, and it doesn't seem to have an alpha channels tab.

The texture I'm working on is this:

Image

As far as I can tell the apha channel is the inverse of what it's supposed to be - according to the description tZork gave in his reply. But it seems to be transparent in the right places as it appears in my post. If the alpha is inverse, can the shaders be written to accommodate this (so black is opaque and white transparent)?
2 GHz Mac Pro
Mac OS X 10.6.2
nvidia GeForce 8800 GT
Clueless Newbie
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:01 pm


Return to Nexuiz - Editing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron