HOWTO: Make A New Nexuiz Playermodel.

Post anything to do with editing Nexuiz here. Whether its problems you've had, questions, or if you just want to show off your work.

Moderators: Nexuiz Moderators, Moderators

Postby MC SE7EN » Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:24 pm

http://svn.icculus.org/nexuiz/trunk/data/models/player/

This is the correct link that should be listed in the first post.
MC SE7EN
Alien trapper
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 8:56 pm

Postby ai » Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:03 am

MC SE7EN wrote:http://svn.icculus.org/nexuiz/trunk/data/models/player/

This is the correct link that should be listed in the first post.

Uhm.. what?
If it's for the source models then that is not correct. That's just the .zym files (which Nexuiz uses) but as far as I know you cannot actually open any .zym files in any application. There is a script for Blender to import Half-Life format (.smd) and it also exports to a .zym, but I don't think you can import it.

Here is a link however to the sources: http://svn.icculus.org/nexuiz/trunk/mis ... ce/models/
Download 'Players.zip'.
ai
Forum addon
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 3:54 pm
Location: Behind you

Postby MC SE7EN » Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:06 pm

ai wrote:
MC SE7EN wrote:http://svn.icculus.org/nexuiz/trunk/data/models/player/

This is the correct link that should be listed in the first post.

Uhm.. what?
If it's for the source models then that is not correct. That's just the .zym files (which Nexuiz uses) but as far as I know you cannot actually open any .zym files in any application. There is a script for Blender to import Half-Life format (.smd) and it also exports to a .zym, but I don't think you can import it.

Here is a link however to the sources: http://svn.icculus.org/nexuiz/trunk/mis ... ce/models/
Download 'Players.zip'.


Hm, i must have posted the wrong link... I was looking around at all the different folders...

Thanks for the correction!
MC SE7EN
Alien trapper
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 8:56 pm

Postby MC SE7EN » Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:01 pm

Alrighty, so I've got my .smd files, but now what? I need to know...

A) How to get the skin/textures actually ONTO the model
B) How to compile a .zym on a Mac. All the solutions I've seen after reading quite a few pages into the thread have been for Windows.
MC SE7EN
Alien trapper
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 8:56 pm

Postby Flying Steel » Tue May 12, 2009 7:33 pm

So what about the player cameras (default and chase) positions, weapon positioning and hitbox dimensions for player characters?

Are these hardcoded to be always the same for all models? If so, what are the coordinates and dimension values for them?

Or can these be changed for each character model? If so how?


This is where the rubber (content) meets the road (engine), without this information, player models will look really wacked in game, with weapons floating above or below the character's arms, cameras positioned inside the player model or small characters that die when you shoot near them or big characters that don't suffer any damage when you shoot them in most places (like their head) :shock:.
Flying Steel
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 623
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 9:13 pm

Postby Flying Steel » Thu May 14, 2009 5:50 pm

Bump.

So why no response to the questions I posted?

Is this a bad place to post them or was I not clear enough about what I was asking?
Flying Steel
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 623
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 9:13 pm

Postby tZork » Thu May 14, 2009 7:07 pm

weapon position is control by bones, so those get the right pos if you rig it right.
you don't see you own chara in non case, so you wont end up looking inside the model either.

as for sizes:
constants.qh wrote:vector PL_VIEW_OFS = '0 0 35';
vector PL_MIN = '-16 -16 -24';
vector PL_MAX = '16 16 45';
vector PL_CROUCH_VIEW_OFS = '0 0 15';
vector PL_CROUCH_MIN = '-16 -16 -24';
vector PL_CROUCH_MAX = '16 16 25';


so the player hitbox is 32x32x69 units. make your model roughtly fit in this box and your fine.
HOF:
<Diablo> the nex is a "game modification"
<Diablo> quake1 never had a weapon like that.
<Vordreller> there was no need for anything over 4GB untill Vista came along
<Samua>]Idea: Fix it? :D
<Samua>Lies, that only applies to other people.
tZork
tZite Admin
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Halfway to somwhere else

Postby Flying Steel » Thu May 14, 2009 8:54 pm

tZork wrote:weapon position is control by bones, so those get the right pos if you rig it right.


And so I take it this will also determine where the weapon shots originate from.

Is there a hard limit on how many bones a model can have?

as for sizes:
constants.qh wrote:vector PL_VIEW_OFS = '0 0 35';
vector PL_MIN = '-16 -16 -24';
vector PL_MAX = '16 16 45';
vector PL_CROUCH_VIEW_OFS = '0 0 15';
vector PL_CROUCH_MIN = '-16 -16 -24';
vector PL_CROUCH_MAX = '16 16 25';


so the player hitbox is 32x32x69 units. make your model roughtly fit in this box and your fine.


Ah good, I didn't even remember to ask about the crouch hitbox, thanks. :)
Flying Steel
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 623
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 9:13 pm

Postby Taiyo.uk » Wed May 27, 2009 5:58 pm

I've restarted work on the "karotep" playermodel, but I've hit a problem while assigning my mesh to the Pyria armature. I have weighted all of the vertices to the bones, but the model becomes distorted - see the images below:

http://www.haosredro.com/nex/img/editbones.png
http://www.haosredro.com/nex/img/objectbones.png

I have tried rolling the offending bones but to no avail. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?
Taiyo.uk
Alien trapper
 
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 8:48 pm
Location: Reading, IN-GER-LUND!!!

Postby Flying Steel » Wed May 27, 2009 6:50 pm

Taiyo.uk wrote:I've restarted work on the "karotep" playermodel, but I've hit a problem while assigning my mesh to the Pyria armature. I have weighted all of the vertices to the bones, but the model becomes distorted - see the images below:

http://www.haosredro.com/nex/img/editbones.png
http://www.haosredro.com/nex/img/objectbones.png

I have tried rolling the offending bones but to no avail. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?


Is this the first time you've rigged a model in blender?

Also, it might help to diagnose the problem, if you would post this .blend file itself.
Flying Steel
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 623
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 9:13 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Nexuiz - Editing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest