Handling .ase models

Post anything to do with editing Nexuiz here. Whether its problems you've had, questions, or if you just want to show off your work.

Moderators: Nexuiz Moderators, Moderators

Handling .ase models

Postby Clueless Newbie » Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:44 am

First of all, I figured out how to get GtkRadient for OS X to load .ase models; I have to store them in .q3a/baseq3/models/ (or something like that). It's a pain, but it works.

But some questions: Can .ase models be rotated? If so, how? Can they be scaled? If so, how? Besides moving them around, are there other ways one can manipulate them? If they can't be rotated, does that mean I'd have to make a separate .ase model for each direction a lamp faces, for instance?

How do .ase models behave if they're partially overlapped by brushes?

If nothing else, I can see the potential for making huge landscapes with .ases.
2 GHz Mac Pro
Mac OS X 10.6.2
nvidia GeForce 8800 GT
Clueless Newbie
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:01 pm

Postby tZork » Mon Sep 01, 2008 11:26 am

enteties.def wrote:Generic placeholder for inserting MD3 models in game. Requires compilation of map geometry to be added to level. If the map is compiled with Q3Map2, then ASE, 3DS, OBJ and other model formats are supported.
-------- KEYS --------
angle: direction in which model will be oriented.
model : path/name of model to use (eg: models/mapobjects/teleporter/teleporter.md3).
-------- Q3MAP2 KEYS --------
angles : Individual control of PITCH, YAW, and ROLL (default 0 0 0).
modelscale : Floating-point value used to scale a model up or down (default 1.0).
modelscale_vec : Floating-point vector used to scale a model's axes individually (default 1.0 1.0 1.0).
_remap : Used to remap textures/shaders in the model. To remap all shaders to a given shader, use "*;models/mymodel/mytexture". To remap a specific shader, use "models/mymodel/old;models/mymodel/new".
target : Used to attach the misc_model to a brush entity, where its "targetname" key is the same value.
_lightmapscale : Floating point value scaling the resolution of lightmaps on this model (if model is using lightmapped shaders) (default 1.0).
_cs OR _castshadows : Allows per-entity control over shadow casting. Defaults to 0 on entities, 1 on world. 0 = no shadow casting. 1 = cast shadows on world. > 1 = cast shadows on entities with _rs (or _receiveshadows) with the corresponding value, AND world. Negative values imply same, but DO NOT cast shadows on world.
_rs OR _receiveshadows : Allows per-entity control over shadow reception. Defaults to 1 on everything (world shadows). 0 = receives NO shadows. > 1 = receive shadows only from corresponding keyed entities (see above) and world. < 1 = receive shadows ONLY from corresponding keyed entities.
_celshader : Sets the cel shader used for this geometry. Note: omit the "textures/" prefix.


overlapping is no problem, as long as its not on the same plane (just like brushwork) technically using clipped models are very similar to using detail brushes.
HOF:
<Diablo> the nex is a "game modification"
<Diablo> quake1 never had a weapon like that.
<Vordreller> there was no need for anything over 4GB untill Vista came along
<Samua>]Idea: Fix it? :D
<Samua>Lies, that only applies to other people.
tZork
tZite Admin
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Halfway to somwhere else

Re: Handling .ase models

Postby sev » Mon Sep 01, 2008 2:38 pm

Clueless Newbie wrote:First of all, I figured out how to get GtkRadient for OS X to load .ase models; I have to store them in .q3a/baseq3/models/ (or something like that). It's a pain, but it works.

But some questions: Can .ase models be rotated? If so, how? Can they be scaled? If so, how? Besides moving them around, are there other ways one can manipulate them? If they can't be rotated, does that mean I'd have to make a separate .ase model for each direction a lamp faces, for instance?

How do .ase models behave if they're partially overlapped by brushes?

I'm glad you got it to work. :D

The rotating and scaling can be done with key's in the entity window (you can also use the rotating buttons, at least to rotate it on the z-axis)
-------- KEYS --------
angle: direction in which model will be oriented.
model : path/name of model to use (eg: models/mapobjects/teleporter/teleporter.md3).
-------- Q3MAP2 KEYS --------
angles : Individual control of PITCH, YAW, and ROLL (default 0 0 0).
modelscale : Floating-point value used to scale a model up or down (default 1.0).
modelscale_vec : Floating-point vector used to scale a model's axes individually (default 1.0 1.0 1.0).


EDIT: just saw that tZork already quoted the entity notes, sorry :P
sev
Alien
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 3:03 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby Clueless Newbie » Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:22 pm

tZork wrote:
enteties.def wrote:


Thanks. That seems to work. Is it by any chance possible to mirror an .ase? I couldn't find that in .def you supplied.

Think I'll slap together a simple map just to test these .ases. 2-3 tunnel elements plus assorted decoration...
2 GHz Mac Pro
Mac OS X 10.6.2
nvidia GeForce 8800 GT
Clueless Newbie
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:01 pm

Re: Handling .ase models

Postby Clueless Newbie » Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:34 pm

sev wrote:I'm glad you got it to work. :D

So am I.. ;)
2 GHz Mac Pro
Mac OS X 10.6.2
nvidia GeForce 8800 GT
Clueless Newbie
Keyboard killer
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:01 pm

Postby tZork » Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:29 am

Clueless Newbie wrote:
tZork wrote:
enteties.def wrote:


Thanks. That seems to work. Is it by any chance possible to mirror an .ase? I couldn't find that in .def you supplied.

No, not that i know of anyway. modelscale_vec can be used for this, but it messes up the normals too so its a nogo (-1 1 1 would x-flip it)

Clueless Newbie wrote:Think I'll slap together a simple map just to test these .ases. 2-3 tunnel elements plus assorted decoration...


Looking forward to it =) just remember you still need some caulk brushes between your models to provide vis blocking.
HOF:
<Diablo> the nex is a "game modification"
<Diablo> quake1 never had a weapon like that.
<Vordreller> there was no need for anything over 4GB untill Vista came along
<Samua>]Idea: Fix it? :D
<Samua>Lies, that only applies to other people.
tZork
tZite Admin
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Halfway to somwhere else


Return to Nexuiz - Editing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron