Screenshots of what you're doing

Post anything to do with editing Nexuiz here. Whether its problems you've had, questions, or if you just want to show off your work.

Moderators: Nexuiz Moderators, Moderators

Postby Revenant » Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:53 pm

Ahh, I knew that the screenshot was changing the gamma, but i wasnt sure what cvar you used to change it. God, its been so long, i cant remember the cvars for turning off my hud to take the levelshot. Can you tell me what it is?
Revenant
Alien
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:38 pm
Location: Canada

Postby esteel » Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:13 pm

Sure its viewsize 120 :)

I use those nifty little binds: *removed* please see here:
http://www.forums.alientrap.local/viewtopic.php?p=357#357
Last edited by esteel on Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
esteel
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:27 am

Postby Urmel » Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:06 pm

Revenant wrote:@Urmel...: And what are you hoping to see inside of those blinds? ;) I'll probably give the blinds a glow map, so its like there is lights on inside.


Well, umm, err, of coz I expect hallways to runn through an sstuff behind the windows :shock:
uncomfortable
random
mean
embarrassing
limited
Urmel
Forum addon
 
Posts: 1744
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 10:06 am
Location: Offline

Postby tZork » Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:53 pm

esteel wrote:Sure its viewsize 120 :)

I use those nifty little binds:
Code: Select all
bind "kp_end" "slowmo 0.1"
bind "kp_downarrow" "slowmo 0.2"
bind "kp_pgdn" "slowmo 0.3"
bind "kp_leftarrow" "slowmo 0.5"
bind "kp_5" "slowmo 1"
bind "kp_rightarrow" "slowmo 2"
bind "kp_home" "slowmo 3"
bind "kp_uparrow" "slowmo 5"
bind "kp_pgup" "slowmo 10"
bind "kp_ins" "pausedemo"
bind "kp_del" "stopdemo"
bind "kp_enter" "capturevideo"
bind "kp_plus" "capturevideo"
bind "kp_minus" "freeview"
bind "kp_multiply" "demoview"
bind "kp_slash" "thirdperson"

alias "capturevideo" "toggle cl_capturevideo"

alias "+freeview" "set viewsize_backup $viewsize; set viewsize 120; set crosshair_backup $crosshair; set crosshair 0; set con_notify_backup $con_notify; set con_notify 0; set con_chat_backup $con_chat; set con_chat 0; set r_drawviewmodel_backup $r_drawviewmodel; set r_drawviewmodel 0; set showtime_backup $showtime; set showtime 0; set showfps_backup $showfps; set showfps 0; alias freeview -freeview"
alias "-freeview" "set viewsize $viewsize_backup; set crosshair $crosshair_backup; set con_notify $con_notify_backup; set con_chat $con_chat_backup; set r_drawviewmodel $r_drawviewmodel_backup; set showtime $showtime_backup; set showfps $showfps_backup; alias freeview +freeview"
alias "freeview" "+freeview"

alias "+demoview" "set viewsize_backup $viewsize; set viewsize 100; set crosshair_backup $crosshair; set crosshair 1; set con_notify_backup $con_notify; set con_notify 0; set con_chat_backup $con_chat; set con_chat 0; set r_drawviewmodel_backup $r_drawviewmodel; set r_drawviewmodel 1; set showtime_backup $showtime; set showtime 0; set showfps_backup $showfps; set showfps 0; alias demoview -demoview"
alias "-demoview" "set viewsize $viewsize_backup; set crosshair $crosshair_backup; set con_notify $con_notify_backup; set con_chat $con_chat_backup; set r_drawviewmodel $r_drawviewmodel_backup; set showtime $showtime_backup; set showfps $showfps_backup; alias demoview +demoview"
alias "demoview" "+demoview"

alias "thirdperson" "toggle chase_active"

freeview hides anything from the screen, crosshair, hud, messages on the top and chat, weapon, time and fps display
demoview almost the same but displays full hud, crosshair 1 and weapon.
But please remember to press these two key twice to restore your own settings or you will have an empty screen after restart.. i was too lazy to make this better :)


Oh naughty you, so you just made a alias combo to dis/re enable the screen clutter when asked what cvars was invloved.. you lazy 'ol bugger ;)

This is acctualy realy usefull, ill use this in my dev conf too. sofar i been to lazy to do this and this means i manualy disable everything each time its time for a levelshot :oops:

Is there any way to do basic math and string stuff in the console? im guessing the answer is no.. but im hoping its yes :D
HOF:
<Diablo> the nex is a "game modification"
<Diablo> quake1 never had a weapon like that.
<Vordreller> there was no need for anything over 4GB untill Vista came along
<Samua>]Idea: Fix it? :D
<Samua>Lies, that only applies to other people.
tZork
tZite Admin
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Halfway to somwhere else

Postby esteel » Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:08 pm

tZork wrote:Oh naughty you, so you just made a alias combo to dis/re enable the screen clutter when asked what cvars was invloved.. you lazy 'ol bugger ;)

Is there any way to do basic math and string stuff in the console? im guessing the answer is no.. but im hoping its yes :D

Well i posted something similar quite a while back in the forum, i was just too lazy to search the forum post so i just posted my updated version from my config files :) But maybe i should search it and also update it :)
Ok.. done that.. http://www.forums.alientrap.local/viewtopic.php?p=357#357
Also has a change compared to the stuff here, demoview also makes sure it uses fov 90 while freeview does not care about that.

And no you can't do math in the console..
esteel
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:27 am

Postby Revenant » Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:33 pm

There isnt anything behind the blinds really. That would have been an awful lot of work to do, and it would totally change the gameplay to allow too much nex sniping and hiding. Really, its just a deathmatch style layout, in a city, but not in the actual buildings of the city. There is one small building you can enter, but it doesnt have any windows, just 2 doors. It is big enough for at least 6 people, because i tested it with 5 bots, and it didnt seem crowded at all. I think 8 people would be pretty fun on it.
Revenant
Alien
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:38 pm
Location: Canada

Postby Revenant » Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:42 am

tZork wrote:Is there any way to do basic math and string stuff in the console? im guessing the answer is no.. but im hoping its yes :D


I would like this to. It would mean that i could make a bind for rotating the camera view in thirdperson :)
Revenant
Alien
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:38 pm
Location: Canada

Postby esteel » Thu Jan 25, 2007 1:29 pm

Revenant wrote:I would like this to. It would mean that i could make a bind for rotating the camera view in thirdperson :)

DP is unable to change the chase rotation right? So even math would not help you.
Besides you do not need math, just awful lots of aliases like this for the distance: (warning, untested, just written after thinking ;) )

alias chase_dist_1000 "chase_back 1000; alias chase_dist_inc chase_dist_1; alias chase_dist_dec 999"
.... LOTS MORE.
alias chase_dist_51 "chase_back 51; alias chase_dist_inc chase_dist_52; alias chase_dist_dec 50"
alias chase_dist_50 "chase_back 50; alias chase_dist_inc chase_dist_51; alias chase_dist_dec 49"
alias chase_dist_49 "chase_back 49; alias chase_dist_inc chase_dist_50; alias chase_dist_dec 48"
.... LOTS MORE.
alias chase_dist_1 "chase_back 1; alias chase_dist_inc chase_dist_2; alias chase_dist_dec 1000"

chase_dist_50
bind x chase_dist_inc
bind z chase_dist_dec

voila. Best use some editor with good macros. Would be VERY easy with emacs. C-x r n allows you to save numbers into a register and C-x r + to increase that number..
that chase_dist_50 kinda initializes that thing. You should also make sure that the 'first' and 'last' of your binds do not advance into a higher/lower number that do not exist but wrap over. You could also make it do larger steps if thats too much..
esteel
Site admin and forum addon
 
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:27 am

Postby The mysterious Mr. 4m » Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:33 pm

I would like all mappers to consider 2 versions for day and night. Gamma doesnt really compensate for a scary dark or happy bright feel. Maybe im weird, but... (okay i AM weird but that is irrelevant now) ... i like playing "day" maps during day and "night" maps at night.

Does that make sense? Who cares! Lets make a party! With gumibears and lots of CHEESE!!! AHAHAHA ! ! ! ! XD
4m [PB] (amoebios)

This is Your world.
The mysterious Mr. 4m
Forum addon
 
Posts: 1402
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 6:03 pm
Location: germany

Postby Revenant » Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:06 pm

Is it possible to have a completely clear screen while in spectator mode?
Revenant
Alien
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:38 pm
Location: Canada

PreviousNext

Return to Nexuiz - Editing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron